Genus Platypus

The weevil pinhole borer genus Platypus was described prior to the mammalian platypus, so the furry animal had to have the alternate name Ornithorhynchus (Forster 2009)

Tasmania has four species listed.

Platypus dentipennis

Platypus subgranosus
IMG 6199  IMG 6195 2

Platypus subgranosus

Platypus tuberculosus



Grove S.J., Forster  L. G. ,Porch, N. (2021) An illustrated checklist of the insects of Tasmania. Part 1 – Coleoptera (beetles). The Royal Society of Tasmania. Hobart

Forster, L August 2009, Tasmanian Beetles and Spiders, , accessed 14 April 2023, <>.