Genus Trichalus

Lycids in this genus have the pronotum with only a single median lanceolate areolet, the rostrum is very short, and the elytra have the first longitudinal costae next to the scutellum shortened. Three species are listed for Tasmania.

Trichalus bifurcatus
Lycidae Trichalus bifurcatus 

Trichalus discoideus

Trichalus kershawi


Grove S.J., Forster  L. G. ,Porch, N. (2021) An illustrated checklist of the insects of Tasmania. Part 1 – Coleoptera (beetles). The Royal Society of Tasmania. Hobart